Faith

This is the day that the Lord has made – I will rejoice and be glad in it

This is the day that the Lord has made – I will rejoice and be glad in it  Psalm 118:24

It was 70 beautiful-freaking-degrees last Thursday! I started my car to head to the office and immediately thought how thankful I was for the break from the cold. In true North
Carolina fashion Raleigh had just froze over a few days before.

Being in the space of a thankful mindset I started to think how valuable each day is— my commute is almost an hour so I think about a lot of things.

Psalm 118:24  tell us to rejoice in “this” day. It doesn’t say, wait until tomorrow. We aren’t guaranteed the next hour let alone tomorrow, so we really only have this one day to act. This means we only have today to pay it forward, say “I love you” or take care of that thing you’ve been procrastinating. As a Christians, we really only have right now to share God’s love and message.

I get so caught up thinking about a lifetime of service. I tell myself “tomorrow I’ll be start looking into small groups” or “tomorrow I’ll look at volunteering”. I really only have TODAY to be obedient.

If there’s something you’ve wanted to do, don’t wait. If you want to start running, run today. If you haven’t opened your Bible, read today. If you want to say something, say it today.

We’re not going to get every day “right” and God doesn’t expect us to, but we only have today to try.

 

Leave a Reply

