Lifestyle

2017, you look beautiful

Why you can leave the bottle when we talk 2016 and why it’s OK to get behind the hype of New Year’s Eve

Everyone needs a time where they can press the refresh button. I’ve often heard people say you don’t need to wait until New Year’s day to be the person you want to be, start working towards your goals, etc. and that’s true; but I think for some people having that starting line is the motivation that they need. I’m one of those people who like to restart the clock, make resolutions that I can actually stick with and celebrate in some way shape or form with glitter and champagne.

I personally love the holiday— to me it’s a fresh start covered in confetti.

To 2016: Bye Felica

I’m someone who needs to look forward after the way 2016 came to a close. If you take a peek into my post God Has Your Back I mention where I lost focus and how I need to turn to God as my defender instead of attempting to take measures into my own incapable hands. To keep it classy I’m not going to blast what happened to me online, but I will say that I found myself at a cross roads. I knew either route I decided would have been acceptable to the world given the offense—even the “low road” which would be sharing what happened, choosing not to forgive, icing people out, etc. But because I’ve been forgiven, because I’ve been shown mercy and because I continue to receive grace, I’m charged to do the same no matter how I was wronged.  Maybe this is a footnote for my resolutions in 2017.

Hello 2017happy-new-year

I honestly like the idea of resolutions because it challenges us to refocus on what we want out of life and not just the year. I know the biggie is always dieting or hitting the gym more—it’s obvious when I can’t find a spare elliptical in January but that section’s a ghost town a couple months later.

But I challenge you to dig a little deeper than getting swimsuit-ready. One of my friends told me her resolution is to do everything in love this year so that the decisions she’s making are anchored from a positive place.  I shamefully shared that mine were a lot less self-less like taking at least one trip and finally seeing bands that by some miracle are still on tour, but I still think they have their place in 2017.

I also don’t want to dismiss all the positives of 2016 just because the year ended poorly. There were amazing moments and learnings that I’ll carry with me into the new year and that I”m excited to share in future posts. Everything from wedding tips as a bride and bridesmaid ( how to throw the best bridal shower ever ), subscription boxes to try or nah, home decor inspiration (coffee stations)and must-try spots in Raleigh  like rooftops, bottle shops– and so much more!

Cheers to 2017 !cheers

 

 

One thought on “2017, you look beautiful

Leave a Reply

